Erase Personal Data

The erase personal data option is used to erase the personal data for your users.

Jun 2020 3 minutes

To watch the video, login or sign up for FREE

Tools Erase Personal Data video screenshot

Transcript

This can be found under the tool’s section and the erase personal data option is used to erase the personal data for your users.

Now, this is another tool to help with the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulation or GDPR as it is well known.

After entering a username, or email address an e-mail will be sent to that user to confirm the request.

Once a request is been confirmed you can then use the “Erase Personal Data” button, which will appear here, to erase that user’s personal information from your website.

Upon erasing of their data – that rhymes – that user will be sent a confirmation email, advising them that the erasure has been completed.

It is important to note that this option will not remove the data from your site backups, or archived files, so if any time you need to restore an archive of your website, you will have to be mindful that you have in fact erased these users.

So, it might be worth keeping a spreadsheet somewhere that you have done that, in case the inevitable may happen and you have to restore your website from a backup.

Tags:

Register now for free

OctoPress gives you the knowledge and insights to manage your WordPress website.

Sign up today!